About whiskey

 



In this section we briefly describe the types of whiskey. More information will be in a separate project. And so “the family of whiskey ...”

 

Today, a man, who has more or less came in touch with the world of whiskey, knows that this word is of Celtic origin and its original name uisge beatha is translated as the water of life. You can also give a generalised definition of this drink: whiskey is a product obtained by distillation from a mash of cereal crops, among which to varying proportions is barley malt. The resulting alcohol must be aged in oak barrels. The whole process of whiskey production is defined by law of each country where the drink is produced. Also, each country has its own classification of whiskey.

 

uisge beatha

Scotch whiskey

Let's start with Scotland. Three main types are malty, grain and blended.

Malt whiskeys are only from malted barley using a double (rarely triple) distillation in copper stills and aged in oak barrels for at least three years. Grain whiskey is a blend of various herbs with the obligatory presence of malt (not less than 10%), distilled in a distillation column and aged in oak barrels for at least three years. Blended whiskey is the result of mixing the two

 

Irish Whiskey

In Ireland, there are such types of whiskey as malt, grain, blended, and a special kind as pot still. In Ireland, they use triple distillation and do not use peat for drying malt. The exception is the Cooley distillery, which by the production technology is closer to Scotland. Unlike Scotland with about 100 distilleries, in Ireland there are only three. But, nevertheless, they produce more than 30 different varieties. The first three categories are typical by the definition of Scotch, except for the above differences. A category of Pot Still is prepared from a mixture of malt and unmalts barley in distilling stills by the method of triple distillation. Whiskey is used for either blending or bottled straight, which unfortunately is extremely rare.

 

American Whiskey

In the U.S., the production of whiskey has a different story. It produces malt whiskey, but this is more nonsense than the norm. Of course the main pride of America’ whiskey production is bourbon. In general, the basic category can be considered Straight whiskey. The second category of blended whiskey can be unvoiced, because to the U.S. law it is a mixture of “straight” with the neutral alcohol with the addition of dyes and even flavouring agents. “Straight” whiskey is grain distillate, made from a mixture, which includes at least 51% of any one type of grain, and the remaining 49% may consist of a mixture of different grains. It is divided in turn into Bourbon, Tennessee, Rye and Corn whiskey. Classification speaks about the use of cereal crops. In the United States for the production of whiskey they use corn, rye, wheat and barley. Distilled strength should be at least 80% of alcohol, and bottled with strength of at least 40%. And it should be aged in burnt oak barrels for at least two years.

 

Canadian whiskey

According to the laws of Canada, whiskey must be distilled of the various crops grown in Canada, and aged in new and used oak barrels for at least three years. Its ingredients are allowed to add a 9.09% of foreign components - flavours, wines, and spirits, manufactured outside of Canada. (!) The law does not define the distillation methods -you can distil whiskey by the traditional method in stills, or in the columns of a continuous cycle. In Canada there is the concept of base whisky and flavouring whisky. This is reminiscent of the Scottish system of blended whiskey. But the Canadian ingredients are different from the Scottish. The base whiskey is distilled in rectification columns with 96% alcohol strength. The source alcohol exceeds the quality of raw materials for many well-known types of vodka. Flavouring whiskey is also distilled in the columns of a continuous cycle, but with 65% alcohol strength. Of course, the initial product obtained is sufficiently light and neutral. Once the synonymous with Canadian whiskey was the whiskey rye. It had a characteristic tangy, spicy aroma and taste. Today, the base whiskey is made of corn (90% corn and 10% barley malt) and the flavouring whiskey of rye. Not all companies are doing flavouring whiskey in the columns; some use the traditional double distillation. And bottle, as once, the traditional whiskey distilled from 100% rye malt. In Canada they also distil malt whiskey. On the island of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, right there, at the Glenora distillery, it is produced traditional Scottish whiskey.

 

Japanese whiskey

Japanese whiskey style is the youngest among the traditional. Date of start of production is known exactly, but rather the date of construction of the first distilleries is 1923. Although many knew of the existence of Japanese whiskey from Sophie Coppola’s film “Lost in Translation”. Just as in Scotland, in Japan there are three main types of whiskey which are malt, grain and blended. Most whiskeys produced are blends. Blended whiskeys of Japan are divided into three categories. Special (this word must be present on the label for this category), the first and the second category. In the blend the whiskey must be at least 30%, 20% and 10% respectively. Many manufacturers have their products added the impurities and flavourings. Blended whisky of the first two categories must consist only of grain and malt whiskeys. The latter category can contain a large percentage of white neutral alcohol, salt, sugar, wine, caramel, liquor and chemical additives. Unfortunately, the Japanese law does not give very clear definitions of the product, which can be called whiskey. Good samples of Japanese whiskey are often added with large percentage of Scottish malt.

The Japanese only have to bring them from their Scottish distilleries. But now the Japanese are increasingly dispense with the Scottish. After all, the malt whiskey is a special pride of the Japanese manufacturer.

Виски
Аламбик
Стакан виски

О виски

 



В этом разделе мы очень кратко расскажем, какие типы виски существуют. Более подробная информация планируется в отдельном проекте. И так «семейство виски»...

На сегодняшний день человеку более не менее соприкоснувшимуся с миром виски известно, что это слово кельтского происхождения и исходное название uisge beatha переводится, как вода жизни. Обобщенно можно тоже дать определение этому напитку, виски это продукт, полученный в результате дистилляции из затора зерновых культур, среди которых в той или иной пропорции присутствует ячменный солод. Полученный спирт обязательно должен быть выдержан в  дубовой бочке. Весь процесс производства виски определен законом, каждой страны, где этот напиток производится. Так же в каждой стране виски имеет свою классификацию.

uisge beatha

Шотландский виски

Начнем с Шотландии. Три основных типа это солодовый, зерновой и купажированный.

Солодовый виски получают только из соложеного ячменя методом двойной (очень редко тройной) дистилляции в медных перегонных кубах и выдержанный в дубовой бочке не менее трех лет. Зерновой виски это смесь различных злаков с обязательным присутствием солода (не менее 10%) перегнанный в ректификационной колонне и выдержанный в дубовой бочке не менее трех лет. Купажированный виски это результат смешивания первых двух.

 

Ирландский виски

В Ирландии существуют такие типы виски, как солодовый, зерновой, купажированный и особый вид это Пот Стилл. В Ирландии используют тройную перегонку и не используют торф для сушки солода. Исключением является винокурня Cooley, которая по технологии производства ближе к Шотландии. В отличие от Шотландии, где порядка 100  винокурен в Ирландии их всего три. Но, тем не менее, они производят более 30 различных сортов. Первых три категории типичны по определению к шотландским, за исключением описанных выше различий. А категорию Пот Стилл готовят из смеси соложенного и не соложеного ячменя в перегонных кубах методом тройной дистилляции. Виски используют, как для купажей, так и разливают «чистым», что, к сожалению крайне редко.

 

Американский виски

В США производство виски имеет уже другую историю. Здесь производят солодовый виски, но это скорее нонсенс, чем норма. Конечно главная гордость Америки в  вискипроизводстве это бурбон. Вообще основной категорией можно считать Straight (дословно прямой) виски. Вторую категорию купажированный можно не озвучивать, т.к. по законом США это смесь «прямого» с нейтральными спиртами с добавлением красителей и даже ароматизаторов. «Прямой» виски это зерновой дистиллят, приготовленный из смеси, в состав, которой входит минимум 51% какого-то одного типа зерна, а оставшихся 49% могут состоять из различной смеси злаковых. Делится в свою очередь на Bourbon (Бурбон), Tennessee (Теннессийский), Rye (Ржаной) и Corn (Кукурузный) виски. Классификация говорит сама за себя о использовании злаков. В США для производства виски используют кукурузу, рожь, пшеницу и ячмень. Дистиллируемая крепость должна быть не менее 80% алкоголя, а разлит в бутылки при крепости не менее 40%. Выдержан в обожженных дубовых бочках не менее двух лет.

 

Канадский виски

По законам Канады, виски должен быть выгнан из различных зерновых культур, выращенных в Канаде, и выдержанный в новых или использованных дубовых бочках не менее трех лет. В его состав разрешается добавлять 9,09% посторонних компонентов — ароматизаторов, вин, спиртов, произведенных вне Канады (!). Законом не определены методы дистилляции — можно выгонять виски либо традиционным методом в кубах, либо в колоннах непрерывного цикла. В канадском виски существует понятие Base whisky (базовый виски) и flavoring whisky (виски ароматизатор). Это напоминает как-то шотландскую систему купажированного виски. Но канадские ингредиенты отличаются от шотландских. Базовый виски выгоняется в ректификационных колоннах при крепости 96% алкоголя. Исходный спирт превосходит по качеству сырье для многих известных водок. Виски ароматизатор делают также в колоннах непрерывного цикла, но при крепости 65% алкоголя. Конечно, исходный продукт получается достаточно легкий и нейтральный. Когда-то синонимом канадского виски был ржаной виски. Он имел характерный островато-пряный аромат и вкус. Сегодня базовый виски делают из кукурузы (90% кукурузы 10% ячменного солода), а виски ароматизатор из ржи. Не все предприятия делают flavoring в колоннах, некоторые применяют традиционную двойную перегонку. И разливают, как когда-то виски традиционной перегонки из 100% ржаного солода. Делают в Канаде так же и солодовый виски. На острове Кейп Бретон есть провинция Новая Шотландия, именно там, на винокурне Glenora производят традиционный шотландский виски.

 

Японский виски

Японский стиль виски из традиционных самый молодой. Дата начала производства известна точно, а точнее дата строительства первой винокурни это 1923 год. Хотя многие узнали о существовании японского виски из фильма Софи Коппола «Трудности перевода». Так же, как и в Шотландии, в Японии есть три основных типа виски это солодовый, зерновой и купажированный. Большая часть производимого виски это купажи. Купажированный японский виски делится на три категории. Special (это слово обязано присутствовать на этикетке этой категории), первая категория и вторая. В купаже должно быть солодового виски не менее 30%, 20% и 10% соответственно. Многие производители в свою продукцию добавляют примеси и ароматизаторы. Купажированный виски первых двух категорий должен состоять только из зернового и солодового виски. Последняя же категория может содержать большой процент нейтрального белого спирта, соль, сахар, вино, карамель, ликер и химические добавки. К сожалению, японское законодательство не дает слишком четкое определения продукта, который может называться виски. В хорошие образцы японского виски, часто добавляют большой процент шотландских солодовых. Японцам надо только привести их с принадлежащих им шотландских винокурен. Но сейчас японцы все больше обходятся без шотландского. Ведь солодовый виски предмет особой гордости японского производителя.

Так же энтузиасты и  поклонники виски со всего мира доказали, что производить виски можно везде. Правда не везде он получается интересным и качественным. Все наверное зависит от желания производителя.

Виски
Аламбик
Стакан виски